+31 71 5121365info@lemun.org

Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

Home / Archive / LEMUN 2018 / Committees & Issues / Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

The United Nations Economic and Social Council is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations, responsible for coordinating the economic, social, and related work of 15 UN specialized agencies, their functional commissions and five regional commissions. It serves as the central forum for discussing international economic and social issues and formulating policy recommendations addressed to member states and the United Nations system.


The Issues for 2018 are:

The Question of:


Rules of Procedure

The Economic and Social Council follows the standard Rules of Procedure, which means it is not an ad-hoc committee

Current Members

The members of the ECOSOC are: Afghanistan, Algeria, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Canada, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, El Salvador, France, Ghana, India, Iraq, Ireland, Japan, Lebanon, Mexico, Nigeria, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Turkey, United Kingdom, the United States of America, Venezuela, Vietnam

Student Officers

Sanne van den Brande (President) and Sumneet Kaur (Deputy-President) will be the Student Officers for the Economic and Social Council at LEMUN 2018

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search