World Health Assembly (WHA)

Home / LEMUN 2017 / List of Committees / World Health Assembly (WHA)

The World Health Assembly is the governing body of the World Health Organisation, which was founded in 1948. It is currently active in over 150 countries with over 7000 employees. The World Health Assembly debates the manner in which the world’s greatest health risks are to be battled, with issues ranging from disease, drinking water, food, and clean air. Debate conforms to the normal rules of procedure, without ad-hoc debate.

The Issues for 2017 are:

The Question of:

  • Controlling and reducing tobacco consumption
  • Providing universal access to reproductive health care
  • Compulsory preventive vaccination of children
  • Avoidable blindness and visual impairment in LEDCs

The following nations have a delegation to the WHA:

Afghanistan, Amnesty International, Argentina, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, China, Cuba, France, Holy See, India, Iraq, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Morocco, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Red Cross, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, Sudan, Tanzania, The Netherlands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe,

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search