Security Council (SC)

Home / LEMUN 2017 / List of Committees / Security Council (SC)

The Security Council is the most prominent body of the United Nations, charged with maintaining international peace and security. It is also the only UN body whose resolutions are binding to all member states. Five members of the Security Council are its permanent members: the permanent five. These countries are China, France, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, and the Russian Federation. These delegations have the befamed right to veto any clause or resolution in the Security Council. The other ten members of the Security Council are temporary seats, switched around every four years. The Security Council abides to ah-hoc debate.

The Issues for 2017 are:

The Question of:

  • The increasing fragmentation of power in Libya
  • Vulnerability of nuclear power plants to terrorist attacks
  • Evaluating 12 years of responsibility to protect
  • Non-proliferation / Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

The current temporary members of the Security Council are: China, France, UK, USA, Russia, Egypt, Senegal, Ethiopia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Uruguay, Bolivia, Sweden, Italy, Ukraine.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search